2024 Architectural Practice Examination

About the 2024 Architectural Practice Examination

The purpose of the Architectural Practice Examination is to ensure that persons applying to be admitted to a Register of Architects in any state or territory in Australia have an adequate knowledge and understanding of the practice of architecture in Australia and a capacity to exercise professional skill.

The AACA National Standard of Competency for Architects sets out the benchmark competency against which an applicant for registration as an architect in Australia is measured.  The Standard describes what is reasonably expected of a person who can demonstrate the standard of skill, care and diligence widely accepted in Australia as a competent professional architectural practitioner.

Starting 2024, the Architectural Practice Examination will follow the 2021 National Standard of Competency for Architects (NSCA).  

2021 NSCA Explained

The 2021 National Standard of Competency for Architects differs from the previous (2015) version in the following ways:

Presentation into three clear competency profiles, making it clearer for the profession, academia and the consumer to understand:

    • ​Graduate of Architecture, 
    • Candidate for Registration as an Architect, and 
    • Architect Post-Registration

Reorganised into four units of competency for ease of understanding. This replaces the previous hierarchal four units, and nine elements of practice: 

    • Practice management and professional conduct
    • Project initiation and conceptual design
    • Detailed design and construction documentation
    • Design delivery and construction phase services

Similarly, the five knowledge domains have been replaced by three professional capabilities:

    • Professionalism
    • Communication, and
    • Environmental Practice​

Reduction in repetition of competencies that were slightly nuanced, this has resulted in the competencies going from 70 down to 60.

​New and expanded competencies for the 2021 NSCA include: 

    • Recognition of First Nations principles in designing for Country
    • Sustainability competencies broadened and expanded 

Candidates should review the 2021 NSCA and the Explanatory Notes along with the NSCA 2021 Procedure for Candidates (Available Feb 2022) before they begin their application for the APE.

APE Format

The 2024 Architectural Practice Examination remains unchanged, comprising three parts:

    • Part 1: Submission of a Logbook and Statement of Practical Experience;
    • Part 2: National Examination Paper; and
    • Part 3: Examination by Interview 

Candidates who have satisfactorily met the requirements of all three parts of the Architectural Practice Examination may apply for registration to the architect registration board in any state or territory in Australia. The architect registration boards in all Australian states and territories have legislative duties to determine eligibility for registration as an architect.

AACA 2024 Logbook

The 2024 Logbook will be available soon.

The new AACA Logbook is an online platform. Once you have completed your logbook online you will be able to download a PDF document and submit it with your application. Candidates should also check any other Board specific requirements before submitting APE Part 1 documents.

Key Documents (TO BE UPDATED)

Key documents for the 2024 Architectural Practice Examination will be published from Feburary 2022.

AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.