Architecture Program Accreditation Procedure in Australia and New Zealand now available in an interactive format

Architecture Program Accreditation Procedure in Australia and New Zealand now available in an interactive format

The Architecture Program Accreditation Procedure, updated as a result of an extensive review, provides a robust system of evaluation of architecture programs at the Master of Architecture level. This Procedure complements institution-level government regulation as detailed in the Higher Education Standards Framework. Due to the importance of professional education on the pathway to registration as an architect, accredited architecture programs must be designed to enable a graduate to achieve the required 37 performance criteria of the National Standard of Competency for Architects.

The Architecture Program Accreditation Procedure contains important changes to previous accreditation procedures. These include:
• the introduction of the Accreditation Management Committee comprised of representatives of the five stakeholders with responsibility for policy advice and overall quality assurance of the Procedure
• introduction of Annual Reporting
• a new financial model that divides the costs of the Procedure equitably across the regulators and the providers of accredited programs in architecture

The Architecture Program Accreditation Procedure has been developed following consultation with the profession, industry and higher education including extensive consultation with stakeholders: the Australian State and Territory Architect Registration Boards, the Association of Architecture Schools of Australasia, the Australian Institute of Architects, the Australian Deans of the Built Environment and Design, the New Zealand Registered Architects Board, and the New Zealand Institute of Architects. The Procedure has also taken note of the Principles of Professional Accreditation, as prepared by Professions Australia and Universities Australia.

This Accreditation Procedure takes affect from the beginning 2018. See Transition guidance published in December 2017.

Previous Improvements to the Architectural Practice Examination in 2018
AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.