Phoenix Central Park | New South Wales | John Wardle Architects & Durbach Block Jaggers Architects | Photography: Trevor Mein | 2020 Australian Institute of Architects NSW Architecture Medallion, Harry Seidler Award for Commercial Architecture, Emil Sodersten Award for Interior Architecture, 2020 Dezeen Cultural Building of the Year

National Standard of Competency for Architects

The NSCA establishes the standard for architectural education and assessment of professional competency prior to registration as an Architect in Australia.

The Standard identifies the primary activities that are fundamental to the practice of architecture and in relation to which an architect is expected to demonstrate competence in the delivery of professional services.

International Applicants

Can I become a registered architect in Australia with my overseas qualifications in architecture?

Architectural Practice Examination

The APE is the most common pathway for candidates seeking registration.

For Tertiary Institutions

The Architecture Program Accreditation Procedure in Australia and New Zealand uses a peer review process.

AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.