Overseas Qualifications Assessment

AACA’s Overseas Qualifications Assessment (OQA), previously conducted in two stages, determines how an individual’s overseas academic qualification(s) compare with a current Australian accredited qualification in architecture.

Skills Assessment – If you have completed an accredited Master of Architecture program from Australia, New Zealand or Hong Kong, you do not need to complete the Overseas Qualifications Assessment, you may obtain a Skills Assessment by applying for a Verification of Australian Qualification. View the list of the accredited architecture qualifications

AACA only assesses completed architectural qualifications obtained by coursework that would lead to registration as architect in your home country. 


Architect Registration

Once an applicant’s qualification has been deemed comparable to an Australian qualification they are eligible to undertake the Architectural Practice Examination, successful completion of which is required before applying for registration as an architect with a state or territory architect registration board.

Alternative pathways to registration include the National Program of Assessment and the Experienced Practitioner Assessment (if eligible) – or via existing Mutual Recognition agreements.


Migration Skills Assessment

Applicants may also use the outcome of an AACA assessment to support applications for the purpose of immigration to Australia under the Australian Government Skilled Migration Program for the occupation ‘Architect’, ANZSCO code 232111.

This includes a positive outcome for the Overseas Qualifications Assessment, the Experienced Practitioner Assessment as well as the Verification of an accredited qualification.

From March 2022, Skills Assessment letters can only be issued to applicants who successfully completed both Stage 1 and Stage 2 of the Overseas Qualifications Assessment. 


Applications are generally finalised within 16 weeks, depending on a submission as per guidelines and the applicant’s availability for interview.

Application Fees

  • Overseas Qualifications Assessment – Stage 1 & 2: AUD $3,150
  • Overseas Qualifications Assessment – Stage 2 only*: AUD $2,420

1.6% surcharge applies to all online payments.

*Available to returning applicants who have applied for Stage 1 before 1 March 2022.  

Expiry Date

There is no time limit for applicants who wish to continue the assessment and complete the Architectural Practice Examination after receiving their OQA outcomes for both Stage 1 and 2.

However, a Skills Assessment letter for immigration purposes is valid for the period of three years from the date of issue.

Renewing your Skills Assessment letter

Skills Assessment letters for migration purposes are valid for the period of three (3) years from the date of issue.

Applicants who have received a successful outcome for OQA Stage 2 previously can renew their Skills Assessment letters via this online form. If you have only completed Stage 1 of the assessment, please apply for Stage 2.

The renewed letter will be issued electronically by email with a new date. The fee is $260 and it takes approximately 10 working days to complete. 1.6% surcharge applies to all online payments.


The AACA considers applications on a case by case basis. Therefore, we cannot provide advice on a qualification until a full application together with supporting documentation and payment of the fee has been received. See here for information on AACA’s overseas assessment process and links to application forms.

The assessment of overseas qualifications is a two-stage process. Stage 1 – Provisional Assessment is a desk based assessment of academic qualifications obtained by coursework. Once resident in Australia and regardless of the outcome of the Stage 1 assessment applicants can apply for Stage 2. The Final Assessment is a detailed assessment of applicants’ experience gained through academic or professional practice. If unsuccessful in Stage 2, advice is provided on areas of deficiencies and top up studies are recommended as a requirement for the offer of a second interview. 

If you are a resident in Australia and you have completed a Provisional Assessment regardless of the outcome you should undertake the Overseas Qualifications Assessment Stage 2 – Final Assessment. In the portfolio required for this assessment you may provide through academic or professional practice.

Yes, you can apply for Stage 2 even if your Stage 1 is unsuccessful/not suitable.

For a Provisional Assessment AACA has no English language requirement. For a Final Assessment a standard English proficiency test is required if the qualification obtained was not undertaken in English. An IELTS Test Certificate (scoring 6.5 or above), or equivalent or a letter from an employer certifying English language proficiency is sufficient evidence.

AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.