Automatic Mutual Recognition (Australia) / JobPass

Automatic Mutual Recognition (Australia) / JobPass

Automatic Mutual Recognition (Australia) / JobPass

The Automatic Mutual Recognition (AMR) Occupational Registrations, referred in some states as JobPass, removes the need for individuals to pay for an additional registration or licence when working in another state or territory in Australia.

As of 2023, Automatic Mutual Recognition for registered Architects is active in all States and Territories of Australia except Queensland (will not be participating) – meaning Architects who are registered in one jurisdiction – usually where they live or work – can practice in any other state or territory (excluding QLD) without having to pay additional fees.

Registered practitioners will still be required to contact the local registration board to let them know they intend to practice in the state or territory.

For eligibility and jurisdiction-specific requirements, please visit the following sites:

ACT – Australian Capital Territory Architects Board
NSW – New South Wales Architects Registration Board 
NT – Northern Territory Architects Board
SA – Architectural Practice Board of South Australia
TAS – Board of Architects of Tasmania (AMR will not be available until the state legislation has been finalised)
VIC – Architects Registration Board of Victoria
WA – Architects Board of Western Australia

QLD – will not be participating in AMR

AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.