United States

United States

The Mutual Recognition Arrangement between U.S., Australia, and New Zealand has been designed to recognise the professional credentials of architects licensed/registered in the U.S., Australia, and New Zealand and to support their mobility by creating the opportunity to practice beyond their borders.

More specifically, the purpose of this arrangement is to facilitate:

  • The registration of an architect licensed in a participating U.S. jurisdiction as an Australian architect or New Zealand architect; and
  • The licensing of an Australian architect or New Zealand architect as an architect in a U.S. jurisdiction that has agreed to participate in the arrangement. 

This enables Australian architects to gain registration in the following 30 U.S. jurisdictions:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico,
Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Key Documents


Please follow the link below and create an account to begin your application.

Application Fees 

  • US Architect: AUD $4,100
  • Australian Architect: AUD $810

A card transaction surcharge applies to all payments (1.49% for Australian cards and 2.9% for international cards).

AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.