APEC Architect

APEC Architect

Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a cooperative association between 21 regional economies, founded to promote economic and technical cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region. APEC builds on WTO General Agreement on Trade and Services (GATS) principles for the progressive liberalisation of trade in services through the reduction of regulatory restrictions, leading to reciprocal agreements between member economies where appropriate.

Australia, along with a number of other APEC member economies, has agreed to participate in the APEC Architect framework. The aim of the framework is to facilitate the access of APEC Architects to independent practice within the Region.

Australia now has recognition agreements under the APEC Architect Agreement with Japan, Singapore and Canada only.

All Australian States and Territories’ registration boards will be participating in all pathways.  

However, for the APEC MRA pathway, to be registered in Western Australia applicants must first register in any other state or territory in Australia and then apply through the standard Australian mutual recognition acts.

APEC Participating Economies

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • People’s Republic of China
  • Hong Kong China
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of the Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • United States of America

A Central Council has been established by the participating economies. Each participating economy has established a Monitoring Committee to take responsibility for administration of the APEC Architect framework in that economy.

Further Information

Further information on the APEC Architect framework may be obtained from the APEC Architect website.

AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.