International Issues

International Issues

The APEC Architect Project

The APEC Architect Central Council was formed in 2005.   Australia has entered into a bilateral agreement with Japan and a tri-lateral arrangement with Singapore and New Zealand for the reciprocal recognition of architects with the view to facilitate the mobility of architects in the provision of architectural services, and is currently in negotiation with other economies.  Further details on the APEC Architect Register may be found by clicking the APEC Architect button.

New Zealand


Under mutual recognition agreements between Australian and New Zealand registration authorities  if you are registered as an architect in any Australian jurisdiction, or in New Zealand, you may apply for registration within Australia and New Zealand once you have fulfilled the academic and Architectural Practice Examination requirements.

Architectural Practice Examination (APE)

If you are not registered in New Zealand but have an accredited qualification in architecture from a New Zealand School of Architecture and you have

  1. completed the required practical experience (either in Australia or in New Zealand, or as a combination of experience in both countries) and
  2. your experience is logged in an AACA Log Book and
  3. you have completed a Statement of Practical Experience  you are eligible to apply for the APE.

New Zealand has a similar arrangement for those with accredited qualifications in architecture from an Australian school of architecture.

AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.