Architect Registration Boards

Each state and territory of Australia has its own Architect Registration Board established under legislation to register architects, conduct disciplinary investigations, pursue unregistered use of the term architect, accredit programs of study and educate the public on architectural issues. The Boards have a responsibility to the public, users of architectural services, the built environment industry, and Architects who employ graduates.

The eight Boards (and their respective establishing laws) are:

The members of Architect Registration Boards will generally have a mix of expertise, and may include architects in private practice, government practice and academia, as well as government and community nominees. Members may be directly appointed, or there may be a mix of appointed and elected. The eight Architect Registration Boards are collectively the owners of the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia.


AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.