Registration Authorities and Mutual Recognition

Registration Authorities and Mutual Recognition

Australian Registration Authorities

If you have fulfilled the academic and  Architectural Practice Examination requirements, and are seeking to become registered you must apply to the Architects’ Board in each State or Territory in which you wish to practice. Each Board is independent and each administers its own Architects Act.

The contact details and website links (where applicable) to each Architects’ Board are provided below:

NSW Architects Registration Board

Architects Registration Board of Victoria

Board of Architects of Queensland

The Architectural Practice Board of South Australia

Architects Board of Western Australia

Australian Capital Territory Architects Board

Board of Architects of Tasmania

Northern Territory Architects Board

Mutual Recognition

Under Australian Commonwealth, State/Territory legislation and New Zealand legislation, designed to facilitate free trade in services, persons who are registered as an architect in any Australian jurisdiction, or in New Zealand, may apply for registration within Australia and New Zealand under these mutual recognition provisions.

You should contact the Board in the State or Territory in which second or subsequent registration is sought to determine application procedures and applicable fees.

AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.