US/Australia/New Zealand MRA now in force

US/Australia/New Zealand MRA now in force

Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRA) between the architectural licensing authorities of the United States, Australia, and New Zealand enables Australian architects to gain registration in 29 US jurisdictions that have agreed thus far to these arrangements.

Alabama Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington DC, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

 Australian Architects wishing to be licensed in the US


  • citizenship or lawful permanent residence in Australia
  • current registration in a state or territory in Australia
  • 6,000 (approximately 3 years of post-registration experience in Australia)
  • registration as an architect in Australia that was not obtained through any other foreign mutual recognition arrangement

See here for the application form before applying for an NCARB certificate.

US Architects wishing to be registered (licensed) in Australia


  • citizenship or lawful permanent residence in the US
  • an active NCARB certificate
  • a license to practice from a US jurisdiction that has signed the arrangement
  • 6,000 (approximately 3 years of post-licensure experience in the US)
  • licensure in the US not gained through foreign reciprocity

In the first instance, architects licensed in the US wishing to apply for registration as an architect in Australia should contact NCARB. 

See here for the application form.

Previous Pathways to Registration as an Architect in Australia
AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.