Singapore Australia NZ MRA Signing

Singapore Australia NZ MRA Signing

Signing of the MRA

L to R

Gina Jones – Chair NZRAB 

Keith Drew – President AACA

Chan Kok Way – President BOA Singapore 


Architects ready to seize global opportunities through new registration agreements


Sydney, Australia

Australian architects will find it easier to have their professional registration recognised internationally, following a series of landmark agreements.

The Architects Accreditation Council of Australia has reached binding agreements with the Board of Architects Singapore and the New Zealand Registered Architects Board to renew their tripartite Mutual Recognition Agreement from November 21.

Further, the United States, Australia and New Zealand Mutual Recognition Agreement is under review and is expected to be updated mid-next year to remove the requirement of 6000 working hours after registration, and expand the scheme to an additional 14 US states.

AACA Chief Executive Officer Kathlyn Loseby said the refreshed Australia-Singapore and New Zealand agreement would enable architects to pursue more opportunities overseas.

“We hope these agreements will prompt an increase in collaboration between Australian, Singaporean and New Zealand architects,” Ms Loseby said. “These international agreements open the doors for registered architects to practise internationally, and encourage greater collaboration.”

Australia and Singapore have a history of international partnership, including cross-border projects such as that between WOHA and Architectus on a “living building” at 443 Queen Street Brisbane, and the expansion of Woods Bagot into Singapore with Forum Architects a decade ago.

The Board of Architects Singapore Registrar Tracey Hwang said the agreement added to the strong ties between the two nations.

“We hope this agreement will allow architects to forge ahead with new opportunities to grow professionally,” Ms Hwang said.

“Architecture has always been enriched by international collaborations. We look forward to many more between our three countries.”

The agreements maintain strict professional practice standards, but facilitate easier and faster registration for architects.

The renewal follows recent changes in the Mutual Recognition Agreement between the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand. Since August 3, there have been no passport limitations and a new pathway has been established for graduate recognition.

This applies to undergraduates (Bachelor degree) in Australia and New Zealand and post-graduates (Master degree) in the UK.


For more information about the Mutual Recognition Agreements for Australian-registered architects visit the AACA website at


 Architects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA)

The Architects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) is the national voice for architect registration boards around Australia. A not-for-profit organisation, the AACA owns and oversees accreditations under the National Standard of Competency for Architects. AACA works towards the advancement of architectural education and practice, ensuring the highest standards of professionalism and competence among architects.


Board of Architects Singapore (BOA)

The Board of Architects Singapore is the statutory authority established to administer the Architects Act in Singapore. The Architects Act 1991 sets out provisions for the registration and regulation of architects, the practice of architecture by registered individuals and the supply of architectural services by corporations.


Previous Data in action! Parlour Census report
AACA logo white

Architects Accreditation Council of Australia
Gadigal Country
Suite 3, Level 5, 75 Castlereagh Street

Located on Gadigal Country, the AACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.